As discussed previously, we use regpg to manage Ansible secrets. This has been really useful. One annoyance though is that some tasks can take up to 6 hours to run, but the gpg agent only caches the gpg passphrase for 10 minutes or so. I end up having to type the passphrase in several times during a run. I occasionally kick off a run before I leave for the day. It would be a shame if it was stalled overnight due to waiting for a passphrase.

It is possible to change the amount of time the passphrase is cached for. Lets assume I start work first thing in the morning. I want the passphrase to be cached all day, and if I kick off a process before I leave for the day, I want it to complete. So the passphrase should be cached for say 8 hours with a maximum ttl of 14 hours.

This can be done by changing the configuration in gpg-agent.conf. The entries in this file is the same as the long form command line options but without the leading double dash. On my linux box, I created this file is in ~/.gnupg.

The options to set are default-cache-ttl and max-cache-ttl The times are in seconds as per the manual, and there are 3600 seconds in an hour, so we need to set the following:

1
2
default-cache-ttl 28800
max-cache-ttl 50400

Then the gpg agent needs to be instructed to load the file. This can be done by:

1
gpg-connect-agent reloadagent /bye

or

1
gpgconf --reload gpg-agent

or by killing the agent process, it will be restarted automatically the next time a it is asked to provide a passphrase.

The Arch Linux wiki has a lot of useful information, but not all of it works on my Red Hat system, either because it has older version of programs, or because I haven’t installed everything I needed.

Hopefully this will mean I will only be prompted once a day for my gpg key passphrase.